SSC MTS Exam Syllabus 2017- Download Latest PDF

The examinations for SSC MTS are usually conducted in the month of April and May. There are two tier exams; Tier-1 is objective type and has negative marking. Tier-2 examination is subjective type. Only those candidates who qualify tier-1 examination are allowed to sit for tier-2 examination. The recruitment is for MTS (Multi Tasking Staff) for Group-c non-ministerial and non-gazetted posts. Candidates after final appointment work across various Central Government Departments, Ministries, and offices across different states and Union Territories. In this article, the syllabus for SSC MTS Tier-1 and Tier-2 examination will be provided.

Download SSC MTS Complete Syllabus 2017 – PDF Format

SSC MTS 2017 Exam Syllabus – Tier-1 Examination

  • Tier-1 examination will be of Objective type of MCQ (multiple choice questions)
  • Paper will have negative marking that is, 0.25 marks will be subtracted from total score of the candidate for each incorrect answer
Subject Marks Time
Reasoning and GI (General Intelligence) 25 2 Hours
Numerical Aptitude 25
English 50
General Awareness 50


Detailed Syllabus for Tier-1 Examination SSC MTS

Reasoning & General intelligence: This section basically tests the logical and analytical skills of the candidate. Questions will be non-verbal type.

Discrimination Observation Decision Making Judgement
Space Problem Solving Analysis Visual Memory
Figure Classification Arithmetic Number Series Space
Venn Diagrams Syllogistic Reasoning Non-verbal series Relationship Concepts
Charts Directions Seating Arrangements Statement Conclusion


English Language: The English Language section tests the writing, grammar and vocabulary of the appearing candidates. English is a critical language and candidates should have basic reading, writing and understanding skills. This section will include question which will test candidates Basic English knowledge.


Sentence Structure Punctuation Comprehension
Antonyms Synonyms Sentence Correction
Vocabulary English language Basics Grammar


Numerical Aptitude:  The Quantitative aptitude section tests the candidates’ numerical ability and quantitative aptitude. Questions are on the easier side and often test the common sense of the candidate.

Time & Distance Mensuration Discount Ratio & Time
Time & Work Ratio Decimals Arithmetic Operations
Proportion Interest Average Percentage
Tables Graphs Profit Loss
Fractions Number Relationships Whole Numbers Number Systems


General Awareness:  General Awareness paper tests the general awareness of the candidate with respect to his/her environment, social, political, technology, economics and culture. Candidate’s understanding and knowledge of the everyday matters will be tested.

 Culture Awards Indian policies General Politics
Economy Recent discoveries India’s neighbours Scientific research
Geography Country capitals Current events Indian Constitution
History State capitals World events Sports


Detailed Syllabus for Tier-2 Examination

The Tier-2 examination is of subjective type. The language can be either Hindi or English and candidates are required to specify the language during application form fill-up process. Candidates can also choose any Indian language recognised by the constitution of India for this examination. The tier-2 examination tests the writing skills of candidates. Government jobs require candidates who have a fair knowledge of writing letters, applications and even articles. Candidates will have to write essay and application or letter within the given time. Time period is 30 minutes.

Subject Total Marks Total Duration
Short Essay / Letter or Application 50 Thirty Minutes

Download SSC MTS Complete Syllabus 2017 – PDF Format

SSC Online - SSC CGL, MTS, CHSL - Apply Online © 2017